3 comments on “Fake LinkedIn Message Emails

  1. I only ever read messages on the LinkedIn web site. I am suspicious of anything that comes via email claiming to be from any social media sites. There are genuine LinkedIn ‘update’ emails and they are easy to recognise. Anything else – beware!!!

    • Yeah thanks ando13, I found ‘urlquery.net’ while searching for ‘PHP’ and ‘?c005’ . The URLs in my email didn’t ring any alarm bells on there, but there were other URLs on urlquery with the same PHP script names and ‘?c005’ that were flagged as hosting the Blackhole Explot Kit.
      The URLs in my email were returning errors when I tried wgeting them, which then got me wondering if they were compromised servers which had since been fixed, or if they were checking the ‘User-Agent:’ header.
      I was tempted to get wget to specify a different user agent header, but ‘urlquery.net’ was already doing that and was saying that there wasn’t anything special about the page it got back, so I stopped at that point.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s